PDA

View Full Version : downloadablecontent.com selling pirated content


basschick
02-24-2002, 08:08 PM
please read this email from dave at web-legal.com:<br /><br />----------<br /><br />Several people have checked in and told me that they have found their content on <a href="http://www.downloadablecontent.com" target="_blank">http://www.downloadablecontent.com</a> for sale <br />without authorization now. In addition to this, these were brought to my attention:<br /><br /><a href="http://cgi.ebay.com/aw-" target="_blank">http://cgi.ebay.com/aw-</a><br />cgi/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=1703763527<br /><br /><a href="http://cgi.ebay.com/aw-" target="_blank">http://cgi.ebay.com/aw-</a><br />cgi/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=1707595052<br /><br />One is an auction that was successfully completed, one expired yesterday without a purchaser. They are identical, and were posted <br />by the same user account. The person reporting the "newer" one was told in private e-mail that the site for sale was downloadablecontent.com .<br /><br />Read over the description of the website, paying particular note to the "expenses" (notice no content expenses) and bragging about how many customers they have. I think that it's time to shut these twerps down.<br /><br />I'm going to suggest that everyone that has content being pirated here, get out and post some info on the webmaster boards out there to let people know NOT to be sucked in by this sham. Then, you may want to see about filing a DMCA claim against their ISP to get them shut down. If you want to take further action, you may want <br />to look into it, but I have no idea if it would be worth the time. Getting this character out of the marketplace would seem to me to <br />be the #1 priority...<br /><br />Please, if you haven't checked out that site yet, please do so quickly, and see if your material is being pirated there.<br /> Dave Clark<br />------------<br /><br />if you produce content, why not stop by and make sure yours isn't on there. if you buy content, keep in mind that there is no legal license from these folks - using them is a copyright violation, and who knows if all the models are legal since no one knows where all the content if from.

keyman
02-24-2002, 11:29 PM
What a dumbass, he/she hasn't even bothered to change the filenames and uses content from lightspeed's sites and erorusscan, like nobody is going to know the difference.<br /><br />I'll contact the ones I know, try and get this person shut down asap.

basschick
02-25-2002, 12:02 AM
thanks, keyman!

investigator
02-25-2002, 08:05 AM
Same guy here! I have been on him for the last week, but now I am on to the hosting company. Forward any new information to me:<br /><a href="http://www.sponsorpost.com" target="_blank">http://www.sponsorpost.com</a><br /><br /><a href="http://www.adultcontentprovider.org/index2.html" target="_blank">http://www.adultcontentprovider.org/index2.html</a><br /><br /><a href="http://www.downloadablecontent.com" target="_blank">http://www.downloadablecontent.com</a> <br /><br />Domain Name: ADULTCONTENTPROVIDER.ORG<br /> Registrar: GO DADDY SOFTWARE, INC.<br /> Whois Server: whois.godaddy.com<br /> Referral URL: <a href="http://registrar.godaddy.com" target="_blank">http://registrar.godaddy.com</a><br /> Name Server: NS1.MTR-INTERNET.NET<br /> Name Server: NS2.MTR-INTERNET.NET<br /> Updated Date: 12-feb-2002<br /><br />Domain Name: DOWNLOADABLECONTENT.COM<br /> Registrar: GO DADDY SOFTWARE, INC.<br /> Whois Server: whois.godaddy.com<br /> Referral URL: <a href="http://registrar.godaddy.com" target="_blank">http://registrar.godaddy.com</a><br /> Name Server: NS1.MTR-INTERNET.NET<br /> Name Server: NS2.MTR-INTERNET.NET<br /> Updated Date: 03-feb-2002

PlanetContent
02-25-2002, 11:24 AM
What an idiot - I say hang him up by his nutsack, take pictures and let me sell'm as fetish stuff - that'll show'em ;c)<br /><br />Dean*<br /><br /><a href="http://www.planetcontent.com/content/post/exclusive.html" target="_blank">http://www.planetcontent.com/content/post/exclusive.html</a>

TwinTone
02-26-2002, 12:05 AM
Sites are still up. I will get the taken down, I know the company hosting them.<br /><br />Just as soon as I can get ahold of him.

keyman
02-26-2002, 12:54 AM
TwinTone:<br />Since the sites are still up I'm assuming this person doesn't know they've been caught out yet.<br /><br />I know 2 companies that are going to be taking legal action against this person if they can find them.<br /><br />He/she could also come under criminal charges as they don't hold the model records.<br /><br />They're is hosted over at lightspeedservers.net, getting the site shutdown might make it easier for this them to cover their tracks.

TwinTone
02-26-2002, 10:05 AM
I contacted the host regarding this. He has made the statement that there is no proof as to anything illegal. ( this is true ) and therefore will leave the sites up until he is contacted by either a lawyer or law enforcement to take action on shutting them down.<br /><br />Keyman has a good point about leaving them up to further incriminate the individual involved.<br /><br />Thanks