PDA

View Full Version : weird EMAIL .... help


koon
07-18-2001, 05:21 PM
gbonavita@inta.gov.ar
jjsoto@lmm.megared.net.mx

are send a email with a doc file

the email said
----------------------------------------
Hi! How are you?

I send you this file in order to have your advice

See you later. Thanks

----------------------------------------

where the hell is this about?
i am afraid to open the doc file

they got my email on my site ...

anyone got the same email??
what is it about?
can i report as a spam??

DrewKole
07-18-2001, 05:25 PM
Hmm, that .mx stands for mail exchange if I remember correctly, which I dont see why its there...

I wouldnt open it... Most people who send stuff like that are just spammers... "Hi, per your request yesterday..." "Re: your request for info about my program" "Could you take a look at this and give me your opinion? Thanks... John"

emgee
07-18-2001, 05:25 PM
simple delete it,dont waste your time with unsecure mailattachments.

Mr Woody
07-18-2001, 05:26 PM
Here

http://bbs.adultwebmasterinfo.com/ubb/Forum1/HTML/007222.html

L8r

battuss
07-18-2001, 05:26 PM
Its a virus, i just read about it on GFY i believe....its everywhere

e-van
07-18-2001, 06:07 PM
that mx stands for Mexico. they are using a mail server in Mexico to relay the email.
1.- Do not open it, it's a Macro Trojan (vbscript)

2.- get Zonealarm http://www.zonelabs.com it's free and it'll make your puter a lot safer (it does protect you from malicious attachments)

3.-get a good antivirus,

4.- delete the file from your puter, completely.

5.-never open an attachment, unless you completely trust the person that sent it to you AND you know what's attached.


hope this helps

Peace

Angel11
07-18-2001, 06:55 PM
Couldnt have said it better myself E-van

boneprone
07-18-2001, 07:03 PM
Its a virus.. Ive been getting like 15 an hour since yesterday..

I was the first to post about it on GFY.
Norton and Mcaffe cant detect it yet it is soo new..

I opened it as a read only file and posted the detials on GFY..

Dont download the shit.. It is a worm

As of this minute Norton and Mcaffe has added it to thier database, they just did this about 4 hours ago.

toker
07-18-2001, 11:42 PM
btw they usually name these file.doc .vbs or file.mpg .vbs notice the spacing which does not show up in windows unless you choose rename file. Its just a limitation they have found to gain from and most people never even would ever think twice when they see a file.doc to read it.

If you get a file that looks suspecious choose save as and that will usually show the true name. It wont hurt to save as long as you dont open it. Also there is one going around that if you choose text view to view the strings it has a runtime setup to trigger with wordpad somehow.

Most def everyone should get a good anti-virus and scan weekly every file on your PC just to be 100% shure..!!

toker
07-18-2001, 11:44 PM
bleh this thing filters excessive whitespace http://bbs.adultwebmasterinfo.com/ubb/tongue.gif

shunga
07-19-2001, 12:28 PM
I had a ton of those things today, different files, two different email addresses, but same message and same intent.

e-van
07-19-2001, 12:37 PM
as more and more people open the file, the virus replicates itself and sends an email to every contact in your mailing list, since this comes from a trusted contact, many people opens the attachment, and the chain grows, remember the I love you virus?...

hp
07-19-2001, 01:00 PM
try renaming the .doc.pif to .exe and you will see a nice IE icon.. dont run it

boneprone
07-19-2001, 06:14 PM
I have gotten over 150 in 48 hours.. My mailbox is full because it has reached it capacity of storage.. This is bullshit.

koon
07-19-2001, 07:30 PM
humm i got another 6 emails like this today
from the same email address on my site
i think i am going to take off my email on my page .....

is there anyway to report this fucker ...